Watch the Intense First Trailer For HBO Max ‘Game of Thrones’ Spinoff ‘House Of The Dragon’


If you’ve been yearning for a new Game of Thrones feed since (spoiler alert!) seeing Arya Stark defeat the Night King, HBO Max has you covered with the first official teaser trailer for House of the Dragon.

 Princess Rhaenyra Targaryen (Emma D’Arcy) and Prince Daemon Targaryen (Matt Smith). © HBO Max
Princess Rhaenyra Targaryen (Emma D’Arcy) and Prince Daemon Targaryen (Matt Smith). © HBO Max


The trailer doesn’t mince words when it comes to revealing what we’ll see when the series premieres: “Gods. Kings. Fire. And there’s blood. We didn’t become rulers because of our dreams. “The dragons did it.”


That may be true, but the teaser merely teases the dragons. Here’s an HBO Max summary of what the series is about: “Based on George R.R. Martin’s Fire & Blood, the series tells the story of House Targaryen 200 years before the events of Game of Thrones.”

In other words, they are the ancestors of Game of Thrones’ Daenerys Targaryen, as played by Emilia Clarke. (As if the white-blonde hair wasn’t a dead giveaway.) If you need additional information, the summary for the original George R.R. Martin novel may be more helpful—though the plot between novels and screenplays based on them frequently differs significantly:

Centuries before the events of A Game of Thrones, House Targaryen – the only family of dragonlords to survive the Doom of Valyria – took up residence on Dragonstone. Fire and Blood begins their tale with the legendary Aegon the Conqueror, creator of the Iron Throne, and goes on to recount the generations of Targaryens who fought to hold that iconic seat, all the way up to the civil war that nearly tore their dynasty apart.


House of the Dragon stars Paddy Considine, Emma D’Arcy, former Doctor Who star Matt Smith, Steve Toussaint, Eve Best, and Rhys Ifans. Showrunners are Miguel Sapochnik, who won Emmys for his work directing episodes of Games of Thrones, and Ryan Condal.

House of the Dragon is set to premiere on on January 1, 2022.